more from
Spartan Records


by Subways on the Sun

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7.99 USD  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 4 Subways on the Sun releases available on Bandcamp and save 30%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Capsize (Acoustic), Side You Play (Sunstrom Sound Remix), Capsize, and The Honeymoon Stagecoach. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      $6.99 USD (30% OFF)


  • Limited Edition Vinyl
    Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    First pressing limited to 250 copies:

    • "Young" (Milky Clear with Red, Yellow and Blue Splatter) (150)
    • "Old" (Red) (100)

    Full color jacket printed on reverseboard stock with a uncoated printed insert.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Capsize via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out

Works 03:34
Capsize 03:40
Tongues 03:53
Know It All 03:08
On Repeat 04:45


While the band set sail with its shimmering guitar-pop debut The Honeymoon Stagecoach in 2013, their sophomore album, Capsize, steers a course into grittier territory. Capsize is a collection of songs which showcases a fresh artistic trajectory, and follows our collective struggle to accept the passage of time and identify the voices in our lives that are worth listening to. And it’s immediately evident as anthemic opener “Just To Be With You” channels the heart racing spirit of Muse, with a riff-heavy synth-forward energy that rips through the whole record. Each song is a unique statement, drawing fluidly from each member’s influences. This comes across clearly in the Mew-inspired “Tongues,” combining jangly telecaster riffs and dirty-as-hell basslines. Remnants of early Jimmy Eat World shine through both on the album’s title track, “Capsize” and “Time’s Not Long,” while “I’m an Island” features lush textures and ethereal vocals akin to The Cure or Death Cab for Cutie. The longing for time to connect and create before our story is over flows through us all. Capsize invites us to embrace that reality, and discover our own ways to stay afloat.


released September 21, 2018

Produced and engineered by Subways on the Sun. Drums engineered, recorded, and performed by Jesse Sprinkle at Bluebrick Studios, Avon NY.

All songs except “Time’s Not Long” mixed by Don Farwell at Earwig Studios, Seattle WA
“Time’s Not Long” mixed by Pete Stewart for Fourth Wall Music, Nashville TN
Mastered by Levi Seitz at Black Belt Mastering, Seattle WA
Layout, Photography, and Design by Alexander Sprungle

Additional Vocals on “On Repeat” by Anna Kjarem Newbill
Additional Arrangement on “I’m An Island” by Don Farwell

Subways on the Sun:
Nick Barber - Bass, Vocals
Lars Katz - Guitars, Vocals, Programming
Erick Newbill - Vocals, Guitars, Programming


all rights reserved



Subways on the Sun Seattle, Washington

New album "Capsize" out now on Spartan Records.

contact / help

Contact Subways on the Sun

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Subways on the Sun, you may also like: